

IUCN WORLD CONSERVATION CONGRESS 3–10 September 2021, Marseille, France

IUCN Medals and Honorary Membership

Action Requested: The World Conservation Congress is invited to:

- (a) CONFER Honorary Membership on the two nominees recommended by Council (see below);
- (b) TAKE NOTE that the Laureates for the John C. Phillips and Harold Jefferson Coolidge Medals have been chosen by, respectively, the IUCN Council and the Awards Jury, and will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on 8 September 2021.

Background:

1. In accordance with Articles 41 and 43 of the IUCN Regulations, IUCN presents three major conservation awards on the occasion of the World Conservation Congress (use the links to the IUCN website for more information):

Honorary Membership: recognising outstanding services to the conservation of nature and natural resources. This award dates from the founding of IUCN in 1948.

John C. Phillips Memorial Medal: recognising outstanding service in international conservation and commemorating the life and work of Dr John C. Phillips, a pioneer of the conservation movement.

Harold Jefferson Coolidge Memorial Medal: is awarded to a conservation professional who has made outstanding contributions to the conservation of nature and natural resources. The medal commemorates the life and work of Harold Jefferson Coolidge, one of the Founders of IUCN, a former President of the Union and its principal fundraiser from 1948 through to the 1980s.

- 2. The Governance and Constituency Committee of the IUCN Council, as provided for in its mandate, constitutes the Jury for these three awards. At the 96th Meeting of Council in March 2019, the Governance and Constituency Committee appointed five of its members to form the core Jury for the Awards, and for the Harold Jefferson Coolidge Medal three eminent conservationists were added to the Jury, as required by the terms of reference for the Medal.
- 3. IUCN Members and Commission members were invited by electronic mail on 15 May 2019 to submit nominations for these awards and a dedicated Awards section was added to the IUCN website. While only IUCN Members and Commission members may submit nominations for the John C. Phillips Medal and Honorary Membership, nominations for the Harold Jefferson Coolidge Medal are open to the general public.

- 4. Council at its 98th Meeting in February 2020, on the recommendation of the Awards Jury, decided to recommend the following names to the World Conservation Congress for the conferral of Honorary Membership:
 - a. Dr. Richard John Watling (Fiji, Oceania)
 - b. Mr. Assad Adel Serhal (Lebanon, West Asia)
 - c. Mr. Ropni Metyktire (Brazil, Meso and South America)
 - d. Ms. Jane Goodall (UK, West Europe)
- 5. The citations for the nominees and their pictures may be found on the <u>Congress website</u>.
- 6. Council further endorsed the Laureate recommended by the Jury for the John C. Phillips Medal and noted the decision of the Awards Jury regarding the Harold Jefferson Coolidge Medal. Following past practice, these names will be announced at the Awards ceremony during the World Conservation Congress in Marseille, France.
- 7. All Awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held during the 3rd Sitting of the Members' Assembly in Marseille, France, on 8 September 2021.